Wastewater

Endless Possibilities for Your Wastewater

Recognized for providing effective solutions to improve water quality, Using specialized products and services, Magnus also responds to new environmental challenges that our customers are facing when discharging wastewater. We can help find the best wastewater treatment solution for your needs.

water-treatment-waste-water-magnus.jpg

Fats, Oils and Grease Removal

There are many sources of fats, oils, and grease in industrial wastewaters from agri-food processes, industrial manufacturing, metal processing, lubrication, cleaning, etc. Although gravity separators are used, fats, oils and grease often end up in the water in an emulsified form, which requires a physicochemical treatment method.

 

Our solutions for fats, oils and grease removal include:

 

• Emulsion breakers, which improve oil/water separation, wastewater clarification and oil recovery

 

• Innovative absorption technologies that are chemically selective to hydrocarbons C10-C50

 

• Coagulation-flocculation through flotation for vegetable and animal fat removal

 

• Ceramic membranes to remove concentrated cutting oils

Heavy Metals

Heavy metals dissolved in water are problematic for municipalities because they are toxic to the bacteria used to break down organic waste.

 

They mainly come from machining or manufacturing processes using the following metals: As, Sb, Ag, As, Be, B, Cd, Cr, Cu, Sn, Fe, Mn, Ni, Pb, Se, Th, Zn, Zr.

 

We designed our solutions to reduce the levels of heavy metals in wastewater relative to the conventional hydroxide precipitation process. Our techniques for achieving optimal heavy metal removal are:

 

• Pre-treatment using acids and alkalis: Some metals require reduction or oxidation before they can be precipitated. ORP and pH analyzers are used to ensure proper control.

 

• Controlled precipitation: Formation of insoluble particles from dissolved materials in solution. Special chelating agents are used to remove complexed and/or chelated metals and mixed metals.

 

• Liquid-solid separation: Coagulants and flocculants suitable for heavy metals are used in microfiltration, DAF and gravity settling processes.

COD and BOD

Chemical Oxygen Demand and Biological Oxygen Demand (COD and BOD) Removal

 

COD and BOD are general indicators of water pollution levels. It is possible to reduce COD and BOD through coagulation and flocculation when they occur in conjunction with total suspended solids. Soluble COD and BOD require biological treatment.

 

Total suspended solids (TSS)

Whether through gravity or flotation, liquid-solid separation is an effective method for removing TSS. However, coagulation and flocculation processes greatly improve the speed and efficiency of TSS treatment.

 

Phosphorus/phosphate

This chemical creates a widespread environmental problem because it promotes the growth of algae in aquatic environments. It comes from detergents and surface preparation agents.

 

Precipitation by coagulation and flocculation are effective in reducing the phosphate content of wastewater, which integrates well with liquid-solid separation.

 

Phosphorus is also removed through biological digestion.

Neutralization

To meet the discharge standards of the receiving environment, one of the key parameters to monitor is the pH of wastewater. It is usually a relatively straightforward procedure, as the addition of acid or alkaline agents to reach a set point is often sufficient to achieve the target pH levels.

 

The difficulty lies in the fluctuating quality of the water being neutralized, which is why a customized design is so important. Magnus has the formulations needed to respond to such situations and offers tailored pH neutralization systems that take these factors into account.

Foam Control

Foam in wastewater treatment processes is a critical operational problem. The most common types of foam in wastewater are chemical and biological foam.

 

• Chemical foams are caused mainly by surface-active agents, including soaps/detergents, surfactants, cleaners, reactions between caustics and oils/grease and other discharged chemicals. Surfactant-induced foam is stable, white in color and irregular in shape.

 

• Biological foams are caused mainly by the growth of filamentous bacteria. This type of foam is exceptionally stable and can be dry in appearance, comprised of tiny circular bubbles and typically brownish or grayish.

 

We have a versatile foam control product line with agents that can perform both foam-breaking and anti-foaming functions specific to chemical or biological foam.

Sludge 

Dewatering

Every liquid-solid separation process produces a volume of sludge that must be managed. This is referred to as capture, segregation, dewatering, if necessary, and disposal.

 

The dewatering process aims to reduce the water content of sludge. It offers a significant financial gain in the handling and disposal processes, which is even higher if the sludge is going to be incinerated.

 

Several methods and types of equipment are available to dewater the sludge produced during wastewater treatment. The best-known methods are filter presses, belt presses and centrifuging. Other concepts using lower pressure provide a good compromise in the efficiency-price ratio. Magnus offers several of these alternatives, depending on your needs.

 

Adding a specialized polymer such as POLYMAG® for sludge dewatering can play a big role in the efficiency of the wastewater treatment process. It allows a greater volume of water to be extracted more quickly from the treated sludge. Choosing an optimum polymer helps loosen the “cake” that forms.

Odor Control

Odor concerns continue to climb for many industries. For some plants, odor issues have turned into a significant operational problem.

 

Our odor control solutions include technologies that reduce or eliminate odors caused by hydrogen sulfide (H2S), volatile fatty acids (VFAs) and general nuisance odors.

 

Hydrogen sulfide and volatile fatty acids

Our bioaugmentation solutions can biologically remove harmful hydrogen sulfide (H2S) and volatile fatty acids (VFAs) in lift stations, wastewater collection systems, lagoons, sludge-holding tanks and digesters.

 

Nuisance odors

Our odor neutralization technology is non-toxic, environmentally friendly, cost effective and highly efficient. It treats only the odorous agents in the airborne or vapor phase of the odorous material. Our solution is not a masking agent: it reduces or eliminates the malodor by altering and neutralizing the compounds’ odorous components, converting them to molecules that are entirely non-odorous and non-toxic.

Questions about water treatment solutions?

Traitement des eaux

usées industrielles

Une multitude de possibilités pour vos eaux usées.

Reconnue pour offrir des solutions efficaces en vue d’améliorer la qualité de l’eau, Magnus répond également aux nouveaux défis environnementaux auxquels nos clients sont confrontés lors du rejet de leurs eaux usées, grâce à des produits et services spécialisés.

Huiles et graisses

Les sources d'huiles et de graisses contenues dans les eaux usées industrielles sont multiples : procédés agroalimentaires, procédés d'usinage, de traitement des métaux, de lubrification, de lavage, etc. Bien que des séparateurs par gravité soient utilisés, ces huiles et graisses se retrouvent souvent sous forme émulsifiée dans l'eau, ce qui exige une méthode de traitement physicochimique.

 

Nos solutions de dégraissage sont notamment les suivantes :

 

• technologies de rupture d’émulsion améliorant la séparation des huiles et de l’eau, clarification des eaux usées et récupération des huiles;

• technologies d’absorption novatrices sélectionnant chimiquement les hydrocarbures C10-C50;

• coagulation et floculation par flottaison pour l’élimination des huiles végétales et animales ;

• membranes de céramique pour éliminer les huiles de coupe concentrées.

Métaux lourds

Les métaux lourds dissous dans l’eau sont problématiques pour les municipalités, car ils sont toxiques pour les bactéries servant à décomposer les rejets organiques.

 

Ils proviennent principalement des procédés d’usinage ou de fabrication utilisant ces métaux : Al, Sb, Ag, As, Be, B, Cd, Cr, Cu, Sn, Fe, Mn, Ni, Pb, Se, Th, Zn, Zr.

 

Nous avons conçu nos solutions pour abaisser les concentrations de métaux lourds à des niveaux inférieurs au procédé conventionnel de précipitation d’hydroxyde. Nos mécanismes pour obtenir les meilleurs résultats dans l’élimination des métaux lourds sont les suivants :

 

• prétraitement utilisant des acides et des alcalis : certains métaux doivent être soumis à une réduction ou à une oxydation avant d’être précipités. Des analyseurs du potentiel d’oxydoréduction (rH) et du pH sont utilisés pour assurer un contrôle adéquat;

 

• précipitation contrôlée : formation de particules insolubles à partir des matières dissoutes dans la solution. Des agents chélateurs spéciaux sont employés pour enlever les métaux complexés ou chélatés, et les métaux mixes;

 

• séparation liquide-solide : des coagulants et des floculants convenant aux métaux lourds sont employés dans les procédés de microfiltration, de FAD et de décantation par gravité;

 

• procédé de résines échangeurs d’ions spécifiques à certains métaux lourds, dans des applications bien précises.

DCO / DBO5

(demande chimique en oxygène / demande biologique en oxygène) 

La DCO et DBO5 sont des indices généraux du taux de pollution de l'eau.

La réduction de la DCO et DBO5 est possible par coagulation et floculation, lorsqu'elles sont associées aux matières en suspension (MES). La DCO et DBO5 solubles requièrent un traitement biologique.

 

Matières en suspension (MES)

La séparation liquide-solide, que ce soit par gravité ou flottaison, est efficace pour l'enlèvement des MES. Pour leur part, les procédés de coagulation et floculation améliorent grandement la rapidité et l'efficacité du traitement des MES.

 

Phosphore / phosphate

Cet élément chimique pose un problème environnemental fort répandu, car il favorise la croissance des algues en milieu aquatique. Il provient des détergents et agents de préparation de surface.

 

La précipitation par coagulation et floculation s'avère efficace pour réduire la teneur en phosphate des eaux usées, laquelle s'intègre bien à la séparation liquide-solide.

 

Le phosphore s'enlève également par digestion biologique.

Neutralisation

Le pH des eaux résiduaires est un paramètre essentiel qu’il faut contrôler pour respecter les normes de rejet du milieu récepteur. Il s’agit d’une intervention relativement simple puisque l'ajout d'agents acides ou alcalins pour répondre à un point de consigne suffit habituellement à atteindre les cibles de pH.

 

La difficulté réside souvent dans la qualité variable des eaux à neutraliser, d'où l'importance d'un design adapté. Magnus possède les formulations requises pour réagir à ces situations et fournit des systèmes de neutralisation du pH qui tiennent compte de ces considérations.

Antimoussant

La mousse dans les procédés de traitement des eaux usées est un problème opérationnel critique. Les deux types de mousse les plus courants dans les eaux usées sont la mousse chimique et la mousse biologique.

 

• Les mousses chimiques sont principalement causées par des agents tensioactifs, notamment des savons / détergents, des tensioactifs, des nettoyants, des réactions entre les caustiques et l'huile / la graisse et d'autres produits chimiques rejetés. La mousse induite par un surfactant est stable, de couleur blanche et de forme irrégulière.

• Les mousses biologiques sont principalement causées par la croissance de bactéries filamenteuses particulières. La biomousse est exceptionnellement stable et peut être sèche en apparence, composée de minuscules bulles circulaires généralement brunâtres ou grisâtres.

 

Nous avons une gamme de produits de contrôle de la mousse polyvalente avec des agents qui peuvent effectuer à la fois des fonctions antimoussant générales et spécifiques aux mousses chimiques ou biologiques.

Déshydratation des

boues

Tout procédé de séparation liquide-solide produit un volume de boue devant être géré : on parle ici de captage, de ségrégation, de déshydratation au besoin et de disposition.

 

Le processus de déshydratation vise à réduire la teneur en eau des boues. Il procure un gain financier notable lors de la manipulation et de la disposition, et un rendement encore plus appréciable si ces boues sont destinées à l'incinération.

 

Plusieurs méthodes et équipements sont disponibles pour déshydrater les boues produites lors du traitement des eaux usées. Les plus connus sont les filtres-presses, les presses à courroie et les centrifugeuses. D'autres méthodes exigeant moins de pression offrent un bon compromis dans le rapport efficacité-prix et Magnus offre plusieurs de ces solutions, selon vos besoins.

 

L'ajout d'un polymère spécialisé de type POLYMAGMD pour la déshydratation des boues peut jouer un rôle important dans l'efficacité du procédé. Il permet d'extraire plus rapidement un plus grand volume d'eau des boues traitées. Le choix du polymère optimal aide au décollement du «gâteau» formé.

Contrôle des odeurs 

Les préoccupations relatives aux odeurs continuent d'augmenter dans de nombreuses industries. Pour certaines usines, le problème des odeurs est devenu un problème de fonctionnement majeur.

 

Nos solutions de contrôle des odeurs comprennent des technologies qui réduisent ou éliminent les odeurs causées par le sulfure d'hydrogène (H2S), les acides gras volatils (AGV) et les mauvaises odeurs générales.

 

Sulfure d'hydrogène et acides gras volatils.

Nos solutions de bioaugmentation peuvent éliminer biologiquement le sulfure d'hydrogène (H2S) et les acides gras volatils (AGV) nocifs dans les stations de relevage, les systèmes de collecte des eaux usées et les lagunes, les réservoirs de stockage des boues et les digesteurs.

 

Odeurs nuisibles

Notre technologie de neutralisation des odeurs nuisibles est non toxique, écologique, économique et très efficace. Cette technologie ne traite que les agents odorants en phase aéroportée ou vapeur du matériau odorant. Notre solution n'est pas un agent masquant. Elle réduit ou élimine la mauvaise odeur en modifiant et en neutralisant les composants odorants, et en les convertissant en molécules entièrement non odorantes et non toxiques.

Parlez à des passionnés d'eau