Efficient Water Treatment

for Cooling Towers

A Methodically Designed Water Treatment Program

Cooling towers are subject to scaling, fouling and microbial growth, including Legionella bacteria. A well-designed treatment program ensures the durability and efficient performance of these systems, while safeguarding public health. We have developed a comprehensive cooling management program to facilitate the work of operators. Our innovative chemistry, automation equipment and service help maintain system performance and minimize environmental impact. Follow the Magnus approach and protect your equipment from the harmful effects of deposit accumulation or premature wear caused by corrosion.

water-treatment-cooling-towers-magnus.jp

Corrosion

Cooling towers are made up of many components of various types of metal. Typically, water will come in contact with steel, galvanized steel, copper or stainless-steel surfaces. The types of corrosion in cooling towers can be as varied as the materials involved, but it always results in the premature wear of equipment.

 

The water in these systems is saturated with oxygen from the equipment’s ventilation, and since oxygen naturally plays an important role in oxidation, this promotes corrosion. Alternatively, the buildup of dissolved minerals in water, caused by evaporation, can create the conditions for white corrosion to form on galvanized steel or pinholes to form in stainless steel.

 

Several other factors add to or amplify corrosion problems in cooling towers. Microbial growth, the use of aggressive products, as well as certain physical or operational conditions will have a negative impact on the equipment maintenance and equipment lifespan.

Scaling

Cooling towers are extremely susceptible to the formation and accumulation of deposits and, at the same time, can be negatively affected by the presence of these residues. The efficiency of heat transfer to condensers and other heat exchangers depends on surface cleanliness—a tiny film of deposit can result in a significant reduction in performance.

 

Cooling tower operation involves a high rate of evaporation, which results in a gradual increase in the concentration of minerals in the water. As the saturation threshold is quickly reached, hardness salts will form an insulating scale deposit on heat exchange surfaces.

 

A large flow of air through the cascading water produced in the cooling towers can also cause fouling. As the tower cleans the air, it traps dust, pollen, insects and other particles in the air, causing fouling in the cooling water circulation loop.

Microbial

Growth

Microbial growth in cooling towers is a serious issue and must always be given due consideration. The conditions inherent to these systems are particularly favorable to the development of microorganisms such as algae, mold and bacteria. Losing control of microbial growth can have serious consequences on system performance and sanitary conditions.

 

The presence of determining factors, namely water, temperature, pH, photosynthesis and nutrients, explains why algae, bacteria and biomass grow so easily in cooling towers. Their presence and adhesion to surfaces can cause a host of problems including corrosion and loss of efficiency.

 

Among the risks associated with microbial growth in cooling towers, we must mention pathogenic microorganisms such as Legionella bacteria. The inherent risks must be seriously considered since they involve people's health.

Questions about water treatment solutions?

Accueil  Traitement d'eau /   Tours de refroidissement 

Traitement d’eau pour les tours de refroidissement

Un programme de traitement d’eau

 méticuleusement conçu.

Les tours de refroidissement sont propices à l’entartrage, à l’encrassement et à la croissance microbiologique, dont la bactérie Legionella. Un programme de traitement bien conçu permet d’obtenir la durabilité et la pleine performance de ces systèmes, tout en préservant la santé publique. Nous avons élaboré un programme complet de gestion des tours de refroidissement pour faciliter le travail des opérateurs.

 

Chimie innovante, équipements de conditionnement et service spécialisés contribuent à maintenir la performance de vos systèmes et à réduire au minimum l’impact environnemental. Suivez la recette Magnus et protégez vos équipements des effets néfastes d’une accumulation de dépôts ou encore d’une usure prématurée causée par la corrosion.

Corrosion

Les réseaux de tours de refroidissement sont constitués de plusieurs composantes métalliques de natures diverses. Typiquement, l’eau sera en contact avec des surfaces d’acier, d’acier galvanisé, de cuivre ou d’acier inoxydable. Le type de corrosion dans ces systèmes peut être aussi varié que les matériaux en présence, mais le phénomène entraîne infailliblement l’usure prématurée des équipements.

 

L’eau est saturée en oxygène dans ces réseaux par la ventilation de l’équipement et, l’oxygène jouant naturellement un rôle important dans l’oxydation, cette condition favorise la corrosion. D’autre part, l’accumulation des minéraux dissous dans l’eau, causée par l’évaporation, crée des conditions pouvant provoquer la corrosion blanche de l’acier galvanisé.

 

Plusieurs autres facteurs viennent ajouter ou amplifier les problèmes de corrosion dans ces systèmes. L’activité microbiologique, l’utilisation de produits agressifs, ainsi que certaines conditions physiques ou opérationnelles auront un impact néfaste sur l’entretien et la durée de vie des équipements.

Dépôts

Les systèmes de refroidissement par tours d’eau sont excessivement propices à la formation et à l’accumulation de dépôts, mais en même temps, ils sont très sensibles à la présence de ces résidus. L’efficacité de transfert de chaleur aux condenseurs et autres échangeurs repose sur la propreté des surfaces; une infime pellicule de dépôt provoque une réduction de performance significative.

 

Le fonctionnement d’une tour de refroidissement implique un fort taux d’évaporation qui se traduit par l’augmentation graduelle de la concentration des minéraux dans l’eau. Le seuil de saturation est rapidement atteint et les sels de dureté forment alors un dépôt de tartre isolant sur les surfaces d’échange de chaleur.

 

Le passage d’un flux d’air important dans la cascade d’eau produite dans les tours de refroidissement provoque aussi un problème d’encrassement. La tour agissant comme un laveur d’air, les poussières, le pollen, les insectes et les autres particules dans l’air sont retenus et encrassent la boucle de circulation.

Activité

microbiologique

La croissance microbiologique dans les systèmes de tours de refroidissement constitue un phénomène sérieux, à prendre en considération en tout temps. Les conditions inhérentes à ces réseaux sont particulièrement favorables au développement de microorganismes tels qu’algues, moisissures et bactéries. Les conséquences d’une perte de contrôle peuvent donc être très importantes pour la performance et la condition sanitaire des systèmes.

 

L’existence combinée de facteurs favorables déterminants, soit l’eau, la température, le pH, la photosynthèse et les nutriments, explique la facilité de développement des algues et des limons bactériens. Leur présence et leur adhérence sur les surfaces peuvent entraîner une panoplie de problèmes, incluant la corrosion et la perte d’efficacité.

 

Parmi les risques liés au développement microbien dans les tours d’eau, il faut évidemment souligner la croissance de microorganismes pathogènes tels que la bactérie Legionella. Cette menace représente une lourde responsabilité puisqu’elle implique la santé des gens.

Parlez à des passionnés d'eau