Home / Services / Sample Analysis

Sample

Analysis

Are you concerned about water quality, corrosion, scaling or Legionella?

Magnus’ analytical facilities include spacious, state-of-the-art laboratories for microbiological analysis and research and development. They are located at the company’s head office and are independent from other laboratory firms.

services-analytical-services-magnus.jpg

Magnus provides a full range of analysis services:

 

  • Water analysis

  • Deposit analysis

  • Cleaning simulations (descaling, degreasing and derusting) and biocide performance simulations

  • Metallurgy

  • Legionella detection through DNA and culture analysis

  • Performance follow-up for treatment programs to combat corrosion, scaling and microbial growth

  • Research and development

  • Legionella analysis through culture or DNA sampling

  • Analytical services to identify Legionella and its concentrations in water samples

 

 

The growth of Legionella pneumophila in cooling systems is a complex issue because it can be associated with several factors, including faulty operating conditions, poor water circulation and inadequate temperature regulation. Lack of maintenance and the presence of scale, corrosion or biofilm residues can also stimulate the growth of microorganisms.

 

Treating Legionella involves using biocides that have proven effective against bacteria, algae and protozoa, while simultaneously targeting the main factors that promote their growth. This means preventing biofilm formation as well as corrosion and scaling. The treatments must be optimized regularly by monitoring several physiochemical and microbiological indicators, as well as verifying their performance. These indicators provide relevant information regarding the level of treatment control, but there is no direct correlation with Legionella concentrations, so they must be measured.

Since the infectious doses are not well known, maintaining low levels of Legionella in facilities for at-risk individuals is the best way to minimize the threat of Legionella.

 

To effectively manage high-risk facilities, increased monitoring is essential to enable rapid response in the event of Legionella growth. The detection of Legionella bacteria must be carried out in a certified laboratory using specific, standardized methods. Depending on the circumstances, a method by DNA analysis or by growth on culture medium is best.

 

The DNA analysis method can detect or measure a Legionella population in water or biofilm. This method provides a result within 24 to 48 hours. Consequently, it is an extremely powerful tool for rapid detection and response, making it easier to apply disinfection procedures and limit exposure in the event of proliferation.

 

The growth on culture medium is based on growing the bacteria on agars with several different treatment types. The bacteria on the cultures can be accurately counted after an incubation period of about 14 days. This method provides a more precise picture of the viability and virulence of the bacteria, which may in some cases provide important clinical information.

Sample Analysis

Service

Highest

Accreditation Standards

CDC_logo.png
ISO-IEC 17025_logo.png

ELITE PROGRAM - PROFICIENCY CERTIFICATION

For testing Legionella in their laboratories, Magnus has proficiency certification from the ELITE Program of the Centers for Disease Control and Protection (CDC) in the United States.

 

Although Legionella bacteria live in a wide variety of freshwater habitats, they are difficult to isolate. An appropriate isolation protocol is critical in determining whether Legionella is present in a sample and at what concentration. The ELITE program was created as a tool for laboratories to test their Legionella isolation techniques against standardized samples.

 

The ELITE program certifies laboratories in the isolation of Legionella from water samples. Laboratories that do this properly receive a certificate of proficiency indicating that their procedures comply with federal recommendations and meet or exceed industry standards for Legionella isolation.*

 

*Information taken from the CDC website.

 

ISO 17025:2005 CERTIFICATION

Our analytical laboratory is accredited by the Centre d'expertise en analyse environnementale du Québec for the field 606, air microbiology, including the international standard ISO/IEC 17025:2005. This allows us to offer you the enumeration service of Legionella spp. and Legionella pneumophila.

 

This certification, issued by Quebec’s center of expertise for environmental testing, allows us to offer you the services of our laboratories for Legionella bacteria analysis, as required by the regulations of the RBQ concerning water cooling towers.

 

By performing these tests in our laboratories, we can support you more effectively in your cooling tower maintenance program and ensure your compliance with RBQ regulatory requirements.

 

Testing for Legionella pneumophila should use a standardized and specific method of growth on culture medium, when restarting a cooling tower after winterization, at intervals of no more than 30 days during the operating period and following emergency decontamination resulting from the detection of more than 1,000,000 CFU/L of Legionella pneumophila.

Questions about our services?

Accueil / Services / Analyse d'échantillons

Analyse

d'échantillons

Services d'analyse d'échantillons

Les installations d’analyse de Magnus incluent de spacieux laboratoires d’analyse, de microbiologie et de recherche et développement équipés à la fine pointe de la technologie. Ces laboratoires sont situés au siège social de la société et ils sont indépendants d’autres firmes.

Magnus offre une gamme complète de services d’analyse d’échantillons pour un large éventail de problèmes :

 

  • analyses d’eau;

  • analyses de dépôts;

  • simulations de nettoyage (détartrage, dérouillage, dégraissage) et de performance de biocides;

  • expertises métallurgiques;

  • détection de la légionelle par analyse de l’ADN et par culture;

  • suivi de la performance des programmes de traitement contre la corrosion, l’entartrage et la prolifération des bactéries;

  • recherche et développement;

  • analyse légionelle par culture ou par mesure d’ADN.

 

La prolifération de Legionella pneumophila dans un système de refroidissement constitue une problématique complexe parce qu’elle peut être reliée à plusieurs facteurs, dont des conditions d’exploitation déficientes, une mauvaise circulation de l’eau et une gestion inadéquate des températures. Le manque d’entretien et la présence de tartre, de résidus de corrosion ou de biofilms peuvent aussi stimuler la croissance du microorganisme.

 

Lutter contre les légionelles signifie utiliser des biocides dont l’efficacité contre les bactéries, les algues et les protozoaires a été prouvée, mais cela signifie également s’attaquer simultanément aux principaux facteurs favorisant leur croissance. Cela implique de prévenir la formation de biofilms et d’éviter tout phénomène de corrosion et d’entartrage. Les traitements en place doivent être optimisés régulièrement par le suivi de plusieurs indicateurs physicochimiques et microbiologiques. Leur performance doit aussi être vérifiée. Ces indicateurs donnent une information pertinente du niveau de contrôle du traitement, mais il n’existe pas de corrélation directe avec les concentrations en légionelles qui doivent, par conséquent, être mesurées.

 

Comme les doses infectieuses ne sont pas bien connues, maintenir une faible concentration en légionelles dans les établissements accueillant des personnes à risque est le meilleur moyen de réduire au minimum les risques de légionellose.

 

Pour gérer efficacement les installations à risque, il est primordial d’instaurer une surveillance accrue, permettant de réagir rapidement en cas de prolifération des légionelles. Le dépistage de la bactérie légionelle doit être effectué en laboratoire en utilisant une méthode standardisée et spécifique. Selon les circonstances, une méthode par mesure d’ADN ou par développement sur milieu de culture sera privilégiée.

 

La méthode par mesure d’ADN permet de déceler et de mesurer la population de Legionella dans l’eau ou dans le biofilm par l’analyse de son ADN. Cette méthode permet d’obtenir un résultat dans les 24 à 48 heures. Il s’agit donc d’un outil extrêmement puissant pour la détection et l’intervention rapide, ce qui facilite l’application des procédés de désinfection et limite l’exposition des populations en cas d’éclosion.

 

La méthode par culture repose sur le développement de la bactérie sur différentes géloses avec plusieurs types de traitement. La bactérie est donc cultivée sur ces milieux de culture et peut être dénombrée efficacement après une période d’incubation d’environ 14 jours. La méthode par culture permet d’identifier plus précisément la viabilité et la virulence des bactéries, information clinique importante dans certains cas.

Service d'analyse

​d'échantillons

Les plus

hautes normes d'accréditation

CDC_logo.png
ISO-IEC 17025_logo.png

PROGRAMME ELITE CDC

Magnus a reçu la certification ELITE CDC en raison de la compétence de ses laboratoires d’analyse pour tester la légionelle.

 

Cette certification très recherchée par les laboratoires est accordée par l’organisme américain Centers for Disease Control and Protection (CDC).

 

Bien que les légionelles vivent dans une grande variété d’habitats en eau douce, elles peuvent être difficiles à isoler. L’utilisation d’un protocole d’isolement approprié est critique pour déterminer si les légionelles sont présentes dans un échantillon et à quelle concentration. Le programme ELITE a été créé comme outil pour les laboratoires afin de tester leurs techniques d’isolement des légionelles par rapport à des échantillons standardisés.

 

Le programme ELITE certifie les laboratoires dans l’isolement de légionelles à partir d’échantillons d’eau. Les laboratoires qui effectuent cet isolement d’une manière adéquate reçoivent un certificat de compétence qui indique que les procédures du laboratoire d’analyse sont conformes aux recommandations fédérales et qu’elles respectent ou dépassent les normes standards de l’industrie pour la récupération des légionelles.*

 

*Informations extraites du site internet CDC

 

CERTIFICATION ISO 17025:2005

Notre laboratoire d’analyse est accrédité par le Centre d’expertise en analyse environnementale du Québec pour le domaine 606, microbiologie de l’air, incluant la norme internationale ISO/CEI 17025:2005. Ceci nous permet de vous offrir le service de dénombrement de la Legionella spp. et Legionella pneumophila.

 

Cette certification, émise par le Centre d’expertise en analyse environnementale du Québec, nous permet de vous offrir maintenant le service de nos laboratoires pour l’analyse de dépistage de la bactérie légionelle, tel qu’exigé par le règlement de la Régie du bâtiment du Québec (RBQ) pour les tours de refroidissement à l’eau.

 

En effectuant ce dépistage directement dans nos laboratoires d’analyse d’échantillons, nous sommes donc en mesure de vous appuyer plus efficacement dans vos programmes d’entretien des tours de refroidissement, selon les exigences de règlementation de la RBQ.

 

L’analyse de dépistage de la bactérie Legionella pneumophila doit être effectuée en utilisant une méthode standardisée et spécifique par croissance sur milieu de culture, lors du redémarrage d’une tour de refroidissement après la période d’hivernage, à des intervalles maximums de 30 jours pendant la période d’exploitation et après une décontamination d’urgence résultant de la détection d’un compte de plus de 1 000 000 UFC/L de Legionella pneumophila.

Parlez à notre équipe